ONE ART’s Nominations for The Nina Riggs Poetry Award

About The Nina Riggs Poetry Award

Cave Wall Press:

“Nina Riggs, author of The Bright Hour and Lucky Lucky, wrote
beautiful work on many subjects, including relationships and
domestic life. She knew how to savor every moment of her too-short
life, and in her poetry and her memoir, she explores the poignancy
and love that resonate in the details of every day. With this award,
Cave Wall seeks to honor poets like Nina, whose writing illuminates
just how extraordinary the ordinary can be.”

“Each year, Cave Wall will award at least one poet for the finest
writing that examines relationships, family, or domestic life. We
will be looking for poems published in journals and books during
the previous three years. Each winner will receive at least $1000
and, if funding permits, will be invited to give a reading in
Greensboro, NC, Nina Riggs’s hometown.”


ONE ART’s Nominations for The Nina Riggs Poetry Award:

Rosemerry Wahtola Trommer – My Son’s First Word (pub. 2022)

Ona Gritz – Office Visit (pub. 2022)

James Crews – The Smallest Kindness (pub. 2021)

Katie Richards – Foaling lesson (pub. 2020)

CL Bledsoe – Working from Home (pub. 2022)

Tom Hunley – An Urn Among Music Boxes (pub. 2021)


Congratulations to our wonderful poets!!