~ Rolling Submissions ~

Submissions to One Art should be sent to:

Submissions may be sent in the body of an email or as an email attachment

(.docx – .doc – .rtf )

Send 1-5 poems (5 pages max) + bio

Strong preference for concise free verse

Simultaneous submissions are fine

No previously published work. / No reprints. ONE ART will consider work that has previously appeared on a personal blog. If a poem that has appeared on your blog is accepted for publication in ONE ART, we ask that you revise your original blog post to note the publication.

Rights revert to author upon publication. ONE ART reserves the right to reprint your work in other formats.

Please wait at least one month between submissions. If you have been published by ONE ART, please wait at least three months until submitting again.


ONE ART nominates for The Pushcart Prize & Best of the Net


Poets who exemplify the range of work ONE ART is seeking:

Ada Limón, Mary Ann Samyn, Jane Kenyon, Faith Shearin, Naomi Shihab Nye, Wisława Szymborska, Dorothea Lasky, Marie Howe, Danez Smith, Jacob Saenz, Laura Kasischke, Brenda Hillman, Marge Piercy, H.D., Kay Ryan, Dorianne Laux, W.S. Merwin, Eavan Boland, Leila Chatti, Natalie Diaz, Sue Ellen Thompson, Adam Zagajewski, Maggie Smith, Tess Gallagher, C.D. Wright, Cornelius Eady, Ari Banias, Keetje Kiupers, Mary Karr, Amit Majmudar, Nickole Brown, Erin Belieu, John Murillo, Tarfia Faizullah, David Kirby, Jean Valentine, Aracelis Girmay, Kim Addonizio, Jericho Brown, Sandra Simonds, Philip B. Williams, Aaron Smith, Wanda Coleman, Heather McHugh, Wendy Xu, Jennifer L. Knox, Cynthia Huntington, Matthea Harvey, Terrence Hayes, E. Ethelbert Miller, Etheridge Knight, Natalie Shapero, Lucille Clifton, Major Jackson, David Bottoms, Thomas Lux, Maxine Kumin.